Soccer: France Beat Croatia 4-2 to Win FIFA World Cup After 20 Years


France won their second World Cup title after 20 years. What an entertaining finale in Moscow. Didier Deschamps, who captained France when they lifted the World Cup in 1998, became only the third man to win the trophy both as a player and a manager after Germany’s Franz Beckenbauer and Brazil’s Mario Zagallo.

Croatia has brought joy to their Balkan nation of just four million people by defying the odds to progress to the final while reigning champions Germany, then Argentina and Brazil all fell by the wayside in Russia.  They have been inspired by mercurial midfielder Luka Modric while coach Zlatko Dalic, who only took over last year with the squad in chaos, has coaxed remarkable performances from his team.

An Antoine Griezmann penalty, an own goal from Mario Mandzukic and strikes from Kylian Mbappe and Paul Pogba were enough to give Les Bleus their second World Cup trophy as Croatia finished second best. Belgium outclasses England in third-place play-off to clinch best-ever World Cup finish.

Prize Money – FIFA World Cup 2018

According to reports, FIFA has allocated record $791 million for prize money, payments to clubs and player insurance fee. A total of $400 million will be purely awarded to 32 national federations according to how they finish in the tournament. Here is the prize money breakdown

First place       : $38 million

Second place   : $28 million

Third place      : $24 million

Fourth place    : $22 million

Fifth-Eighth     : $16 million

Ninth-16th       : $12 million

17th-32nd        : $8 million

Individual Award Winners at 2018 FIFA World Cup

There were several exceptional performances in this tournament, but some players stood out from the rest. Take a look at the winners of the individual awards that were handed out at the conclusion of the 2018 edition.

  • England’s captain Harry Kane who scored 6 goals, finished as the tournament’s top goal scorer won the Golden Boot Award.
  • Croatia’s captain Luka Modric was, undoubtedly, the best player in the tournament and rightfully won the Golden Ball award. He was the heart and soul of his national team, helping them reach the first final in their history.
  • The 19-year old Kylian Mbappe wins FIFA Young Player AwardThere was hardly any competition for this award as France’s young striker Kylian Mbappe walked away with this prestigious honor.
  • Belgium’s goal keeper, Thibaut Courtois wins Golden Glove Award – He conceded just 6 goals and made some unbelievable saves especially in the knock-out against Brazil.